Your Dollar Goes Further Here! 


Summer at Sunshine

Multi-Week Ski School   


Ralph T. Scurfield & Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award -Sunshine Village Ski Resort in Banff, Alberta (AB)

Flames players share Scurfield honour

Dion Phaneuf, Jarome Iginla, and Lanny McDonald have a lot in common. While they have all sported the Calgary Flames jersey at some point in their careers they also share another honour; they are all recipients of the Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian award.

In the 2010/2011 it was awarded to Cory Sarich and in 2009/2010 season it was awarded to Craig Conroy for his work with the Flames Foundation for Life, the team's charitable organization. He is the spokesman for the foundation and promotes the Flames' Even Strength program that aims to help underprivileged kids get into hockey if they otherwise could not afford it.

The Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award is a Flames team award given each year to the player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, determination and leadership on the ice, combined with dedication to community service."

It was first awarded in 1987 and named after Ralph T. Scurfield, one of the original owners of the Calgary Flames, who himself embodied those qualities throughout his career. Scurfield was a true supporter of all sports, and a believer in community involvement. In recognition of those roles the co-owners of the Calgary Flames established the award.

The 2011/2012 winner was Curtis Glencross