Your Dollar Goes Further Here! 


Summer at Sunshine

Multi-Week Ski School   

Sunshine Village Scurfield Memorial Trophy Banff, Alberta (AB)

Banff, Alberta, Canada – The Sunshine Speedsters ski team was the worthy recipient of the Scurfield Memorial Trophy this weekend at the 42nd annual Nancy Greene Sunshine Invitational, held at Sunshine Village Ski and Snowboard Resort.  

The event, which highlights the skiing aptitude of youth aged six to 10 years, saw six teams compete in this year’s dual slalom ski race.

“The Sunshine Invitational showcases a great display of exceptional young ski racers,” begins Tanya Otis, Manager of Communications, Media & Advertising at Sunshine Village Ski and Snowboard Resort. “At Sunshine, we remain committed to promoting a healthy lifestyle, which includes fostering a passion for ski with kids of all ages.”

The Bow Valley Quickies had a second place finish during the race which was held on the Snowsnake ski run at Sunshine Village.

The Sunshine Ski Club was founded in 1971 and the Nancy Greene program in 1983 by well-known local ski coach Claudio Berto. 

A number of the Sunshine Ski Club’s past ski racers have gone  on to compete on the National Team, including Lana Blais Mullen, Darren Thorburn, Shona Rubens and current CAST member Andy Trow.

Names associated with the Sunshine Invitational also include Olympic medalist Karen Percy Lowe and speed skiing world record holder Cary Mullen.

The Scurfield Memorial Trophy is presented annually at the Alberta Alpine sanctioned Sunshine Invitational.

Last year the Scurfield Memorial Trophy was won by the Calgary Alpine Snowflyers.